Recent Posts

Pages: [1] 2 3 ... 10
Generic Aquasport Rebuilding Topics / Re: 1973 196 rebuild question
« Last post by Duffy1470 on Today at 06:17:23 PM »
Anyone else having gallery problems? I am getting a blank blue screen.
« Last post by Duffy1470 on Today at 02:15:59 PM »
Something wrong with my machine or the gallery. Will post pics later
« Last post by Duffy1470 on Today at 02:11:40 PM »
Good info dbiscayne.  Thank you. Here are a few more pics of hole patching and bow eye prep.
« Last post by dbiscayne on Today at 09:27:33 AM »
Theres some science to the stringer design and how it works with the adjacent hull 'flat' areas. They need to work together and have similar stiffness properties. A stringer thats overly stiff next to a hull panel that flexes a lot, ie small boat, can cause problems. I've seen two separate cases of a hull tear along a stringer because of exaggerated differences in stiffness of the two. I'm no expert at this, but from what I've read and seen its good practice to not have a wood stringer laying directly on the hull, instead they should be separated with small spacers, +/- 1/8" then a proper fiberglass fillet connecting them. With all that said, as long as you don't beat the crap out of the hull it might be OK without that gap.
Seacraft also used the fiberglass box stringer and they've got a great reputation.
« Last post by Duffy1470 on Today at 08:21:01 AM »
Looking forward to your response as I am struggling with same question.
Aquasport Discussion / Datacenter problems for the past couple days
« Last post by RickK on May 28, 2024, 07:44:01 PM »
Hi All,