Attention: Have 2 pages to see today

Author Topic: Dash Rewiring Estimate  (Read 923 times)

November 19, 2012, 11:34:42 AM
Read 923 times

daniel123

• Information Offline
Dash Rewiring Estimate
« on: November 19, 2012, 11:34:42 AM »
I bought an as-new (and looks unused) Aquasport dash panel with gauges and switches and breakers, from that salvage place in Florida everyone here seems to use (thanks, Marc!), for my 1999 Osprey. It looked like a perfect re-fit, although short three gauges/holes from the original dash on my boat. I hoped the wiring harness would plug right in, and all we'd have to do is drill three 2" holes for the extra gauges, wire them, mount the panel (which looks and measures just like the original) and plug it in. I'm not good with electronics, however, so I took it to my local marine mechanic and he just informed me that the two harness are are not interchangeable and the the entire panel will need re-wired if I want to use the new gauges and controls. He said that is a 2.5-3 hour job at $97 per hour, and that with the drilling the three new holes in the new panel and mounting the gauges the bill would ad another hour and the bill would be about $400. Does that sound right? Is there anything else I should ask him to look at while he's at it?

While the rig is in there, and I plan to tow it down to Florida late this winter (2500 mile round trip), I asked about repacking trailer bearings and he said it was $125 per axle/pair --which sounds really high and has me wondering...

I welcome - and appreciate -- your thoughts and comments.

November 19, 2012, 12:19:13 PM
Reply #1

flounderpounder225

• Information Offline
Re: Dash Rewiring Estimate
« Reply #1 on: November 19, 2012, 12:19:13 PM »