Attention: Have 2 pages to see today

Author Topic: Injecting soft deck areas  (Read 3839 times)

April 22, 2014, 01:03:05 PM
Reply #15

Bushleaguer

• Information Offline
Re: Injecting soft deck areas
« Reply #15 on: April 22, 2014, 01:03:05 PM »
I got around to doing my deck soft spot with this technique this past weekend.  I am not an expert with glass / epoxy work, so I thought I would share how it went for me and some of the issues I ran across.  First off, I taped the entire soft area, then marked the holes on about 4" centers:

I drilled 82 holes.  I poked all the way thru on only three of them. (circled in sharpie).

A couple of observations on the drilling- if you use a new, sharp drill bit, once you break the top skin, the bit will take off in a hurry thru the wood underneath.  When you pop thru the top skin, ease off and reduce bit speed.  By going slowly, you really can feel the bit work thru the different layers of material.  I drilled 1/4" holes.

Next, I mixed up resin and hardener (west system) per the instructions.  I intended to inject some of this resin mixture with no cabosil into the holes as described to get some type of saturation before going with the thick stuff.