Attention: Have 2 pages to see today

Author Topic: Newbie here - Just bought a 1999 245 Explorer with Ficht 225  (Read 1075 times)

February 14, 2007, 08:11:38 PM
Read 1075 times

Irish Rover

• Information Offline
Newbie here - Just bought a 1999 245 Explorer with Ficht 225
« on: February 14, 2007, 08:11:38 PM »
Wanted start off by saying hello.  Read a lot of the different discusions on the board and boy am I glad I found you all.  I just purchased a 1999 245 Explorer WA.  The boat will be kept in Toms River, NJ.

New to power boating,  I had a 41' Morgan outislander sail for many years that I picked up as a salvage hull from hurricane Andrew.  Refloated and replaced everything, engine, mast the works.  Have done some extensive sailing in Bahamas and throughout the northeast.

I don't know a thing about power boats.  I wanted something I could fish from and do some tubing with my children.

My dad without hesitation said by a Aquasport.  He has one sitting in the field at his house that is in poor shape but the glass is still solid. 1973 C/C 19'6" I believe with a blown I/O Merc.

Can anyone tell me what I can expect out of the boat on the open ocean,  what size waves she can handle, and how the boat handles in general.  

Fuel consumption with the 225 ficht and how good this engine is, has the new kit.  Engine has 142 hours on it, hook it up to the laptop.  Boat has never been ridden hard based on the RPM gauge that I saw on the laptop.

Does anyone know how the fuel tank is istalled, foam?  I hope not.

What is the smallest kicker I can get away with installing for trolling?

What types of things to look for problem why's?

Does anyone ever leave there boat in the water in the winter with the ice as long as the engine is up?

Any help that can be given would be greatly appreciated.

Justin Hogan
new owner of 1999 245 Explorer 11/06
Previous boat 41\' Morgan O/I sailboat

February 14, 2007, 09:37:14 PM
Reply #1

JimCt

• Information Offline
(No subject)