Attention: Have 2 pages to see today

Author Topic: New to Classic AS - looking for advice  (Read 1356 times)

April 17, 2013, 02:21:52 PM
Read 1356 times

TikiDoc

• Information Offline
New to Classic AS - looking for advice
« on: April 17, 2013, 02:21:52 PM »
Hi guys.  I am new to Classic AS and looking for advice on a new purchase.  I am on Tiki Island, TX on the Galveston Bay.  I have a 1990 Wellcraft 20 CC, but it is out of commision, and I think it will take more work than it is worth to recommission (transome redone in Seacast, but stringers dead and at least a little waterlogged with 1 soft spot in floor).  More importantly, I'd like something that runs a little shallower.  I actually owned a 200 Osprey for a while (scuttled - destroyed by PO - long story) and loved the lines.  I also would like something a couple feet longer, so I'm looking for a 22-2 or 222 CCP, or maybe even Mako 23.  My favorite (looks wise) is the 22-2, but I wonder if I'm not a little spoiled by the ride of the old Wellcraft - the deep V really does make a great seahandler for a 20.  I have looked at an '87 222CCP - fair condition, decent power, T-top (which I love), but issues like any boat.  As soon as I figure out how to post pictures, I will, as there are a couple things I don't get about it.  PO mods maybe?  Anyway, looking for basic advice about ride of 22-2 and any decent ones nearby.  I'm not afraid of boat work (engineer in previous life) and I've done some glasswork, plumbing, electrical, etc.  Any help greatly appreciated.  Thanks, Blake

April 26, 2013, 08:57:45 AM
Reply #1

jdupree

• Information Offline
Re: New to Classic AS - looking for advice
« Reply #1 on: April 26, 2013, 08:57:45 AM »