Attention: Have 2 pages to see today

Author Topic: When to paint, when to re-gelcoat questions ( 170 )  (Read 2664 times)

April 29, 2008, 10:55:06 AM
Read 2664 times

Fishhyren11

• Information Offline
When to paint, when to re-gelcoat questions ( 170 )
« on: April 29, 2008, 10:55:06 AM »
So, as you might already know I'm pretty new to all the boating fun.  Grew up with a boat, but it was neglected, and I don't want to do the same.

I have a 85' 170 that is in good condition, no real spider cracks on the hull- there was some gouges on the bottom that i've filled in from the last owner, but overall the hull looks great.
It has a fair bit of oxidation being 23yrs old.

We'd like to give it some new color, perhaps color, perhaps white, but not the dingy cream it has become.
At this point do I re-gelcoat the hull or do I just paint it?
If I paint it, what type of paint? I don't leave it in the water so I'd probably only paint to around the waterline.

If I paint, do I finish with some sort of top coat?

Next question is the deck.  The last owner left a lot of holes unfilled from putting in a t-top and then removing it (~20 holes in the deck)

I have since dried them out, injected CPES (only found one spot with a little rot), and then filled in with epoxy.
There are a few places near the bow lockers where the ledge is that have spider cracks in the gelcoat.
What do I do with these? Do I also paint the top deck? Do I use something like Rino Trax?

Any and all suggestions and help are greatly appreciated!!

April 29, 2008, 01:51:13 PM
Reply #1

Marcq

• Information Offline
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: April 29, 2008, 01:51:13 PM »
Hi, I'm by far not an expert at this but if I were you I would paint it with Imron paint, gelcoating is a pain in the neck. If you do use Imron, take precaution because it's nasty stuff health wise