Attention: Have only 1 page to see today

Author Topic: What kind of resin  (Read 1247 times)

January 14, 2006, 01:44:27 PM
Read 1247 times

Anonymous

What kind of resin
« on: January 14, 2006, 01:44:27 PM »
Hi All

After looking through this web site and seeing the great work you all  are doing I may attemp a restoration myself. My question is are you guys using epoxy or polyester resin when redoing transoms, floors, etc. I have just finished building a small garvey with epoxy and believe it is superior to polyester. The bond strengh is stronger and sticks to plywood better. I just wanted to get your opinions  and pros and cons of both resins.

Thanks
Bob

January 14, 2006, 02:13:15 PM
Reply #1

John Jones

• Information Offline
(No subject)
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2006, 02:13:15 PM »
I'm no expert but here is my two cents.

I agree that epoxy is probably stronger and gives great bonding.  I try to avoid epoxy any place that poly may have to bond to it later.  Poly to epoxy is not a good thing.  I find epoxy easier to use because if one uses one of the "systems" like West Systems, the pumps make measuring easy.  I never get the mix right with poly and it either kicks off before I'm done or else it takes two days to cure.  That's all I'm going to say because I am still an amateur.   :wink:

Good luck.
Politics have no relation to morals.
Niccolo Machiavelli

January 14, 2006, 03:34:46 PM
Reply #2

DEFIANT

(No subject)
« Reply #2 on: January 14, 2006, 03:34:46 PM »
I agree with John Jones, Epoxy seems to bond well to polyester but not vice versa. Also epoxy does not have the strong smell of polyester.

January 14, 2006, 06:43:20 PM
Reply #3

Reasons

• Information Offline
(No subject)
« Reply #3 on: January 14, 2006, 06:43:20 PM »