You reached the limit of pages to see for today

Author Topic: 1993 Aquasport 250 Explorer - Newbie  (Read 3120 times)

December 10, 2009, 08:26:57 AM
Read 3120 times

FisherDan

• Information Offline
1993 Aquasport 250 Explorer - Newbie
« on: December 10, 2009, 08:26:57 AM »
Hello Everyone - Just discovered this board, looks like a great resource. I am a rookie boat owner, and my first boat is a 93 Aquasport 250 Explorer, so I have a lot to learn.

I have a problem that I am asking for help on. I am getting water into the cabin after rainstorms, sometimes more on the order of 1-2 gallons after a big storm. This has been happening for a while so I have some mildew and other damage to deal with. I know at least some water is coming in from around the base of the windshield where a couple of the screws were missing (now fixed) and some of the neoprene-like seal over the screws is gone (I can see water stains on the carpet directly under those screws). This will be fixed more permanently this winter by lifting the windshield and resetting the screws and seal, as well as replacing a couple hatches with missing latches and a new rub rail. I have re-sealed the windows and other joints around the cabin. But I am still getting the same amount of water in the cabin, so I don't think these are the primary sources.

Most of the water seems to be coming in through the anchor locker, because when I take the cushions out I can see water stains in the forward section of the cabin that are clearly coming from the wall to the locker, and can find a lot of moisture there after a storm. I look inside the locker box and pull all the rope out, but I do not see any sort of drain into the bilge or out of the boat from inside the locker.