Attention: Have only 1 page to see today

Author Topic: Johnson 200 Ocean Runner - Max Throttle Stop  (Read 338 times)

July 13, 2018, 09:59:11 AM
Read 338 times

dbillman

• Information Offline
Johnson 200 Ocean Runner - Max Throttle Stop
« on: July 13, 2018, 09:59:11 AM »
I've got a question about max throttle position and if I can/should adjust the top end throttle stop. Of course I forgot to take pictures last night so hopefully I can describe it well enough. Please forgive me for not knowing all the technical terms. I've got limited experience with how this system works.

While putting new spark plugs in last week, I noticed that when the throttle control is maxed out from the helm, the throttle stop at the motor is contacting the motor but the lever that it engages on the carbs (i assume this is what the lever is connected to as its on top of them) is not maxed out. There is still some play in the carb lever that I can move with my hand that the throttle lever cannot reach due to the stop preventing the throttle lever from going any further. So the question I have is, can I adjust the throttle stop screw so that the throttle lever can travel far enough to fully engage the lever on the carbs or should I leave it alone?

I'm currently getting about 5100 rpm at WOT and I know these engines are supposed to be between 5000 and 6000 rpm. Just wondering if I can gain some top end by adjusting the top end stop or if that's a no-no. Thanks for any help you guys can provide.

July 13, 2018, 11:22:26 AM
Reply #1

fitz73222

• Information Offline
  • Mechanical Master
    • http://www.hudson-technologies.com/.
Re: Johnson 200 Ocean Runner - Max Throttle Stop
« Reply #1 on: July 13, 2018, 11:22:26 AM »