You reached the limit of pages to see for today

Author Topic: To Foam or Not To Foam  (Read 5739 times)

February 20, 2005, 01:46:46 PM
Read 5739 times

Seadog

• Information Offline
To Foam or Not To Foam
« on: February 20, 2005, 01:46:46 PM »
To continue a discussion from another thread.  I'm a novice at the fiberglass boat rebuild game.  Figureing this stuff out as I go along. Wanted to see if anyone has some insight into adding foam back into those water logged foam filled stringers that seem to be so prominant.  

The current consensis is that the foam adds buoyancy, reduces hull noise and vibration, adds some structural rigidity and makes for a better ride.

But it also will absorb water from the inevitable water intrusion that will happen over time and that once it gets wet, it's almost impossible to get it dry again.

Anybody able to enlighten us?
1970 Aquasport 222
Spring Hill, Fl.
Should spash her in the summer.
Just don\'t know which summer.

February 20, 2005, 02:59:38 PM
Reply #1

steved

• Information Offline
I say keep the foam
« Reply #1 on: February 20, 2005, 02:59:38 PM »