Attention: Have 2 pages to see today

Author Topic: Should the center console be sealed to the floor?  (Read 807 times)

September 24, 2019, 01:59:39 PM
Read 807 times

TopherMichael

• Information Offline
Should the center console be sealed to the floor?
« on: September 24, 2019, 01:59:39 PM »
Total newbie question... Under the center console, I have 2 openings in the floor. One for the Livewell hoses and the other for cables to the rear of the boat. When I was washing the floor, I noticed that water flowed under the center console, not around. I had assumed that the center console would have a seal against the floor, keeping the area dry.

Should the center console be sealed to the floor to help keep the water out?

If the floor did not have any openings, I don't think I would be asking this question.
1999 Osprey 175

September 24, 2019, 03:20:41 PM
Reply #1

mshugg

• Information Offline
  • Master Rebuilder
Re: Should the center console be sealed to the floor?
« Reply #1 on: September 24, 2019, 03:20:41 PM »
Yes, it is desirable to have the console sealed to the floor.  The problem is that on most Classic Aquasports the console had a rolled outer flange that only touched the deck at its outer edge.  This makes it really difficult to seal, and over time the caulk cracks and loosens.  The screws start to leak too.  That’s why so many decks need replacing around the console and tank hatch.

Some of the earliest boats used a teak shim under the console and some have updated that with starboard, or similar material.  This helped because it provided more surface to seal.  Its also the reason that many rebuilds choose to glass the console down or go with an interior flange.

April 20, 2020, 01:04:20 PM
Reply #2

CTsalt12

• Information Offline
« Reply #2 on: April 20, 2020, 01:04:20 PM »
Hi All,