Attention: Have 2 pages to see today

Author Topic: 1971 19-1 Osprey Rebuild (any help is appreciated)  (Read 2660 times)

October 04, 2014, 11:40:53 PM
Read 2660 times

avidskier

• Information Offline
1971 19-1 Osprey Rebuild (any help is appreciated)
« on: October 04, 2014, 11:40:53 PM »
Complete novice looking to rebuild his classic aquasport. Please forgive me in advance for the lack of correct terminology.
I purchased this boat last year and had it on the water a total of 4 times before I started tinkering with things. The boat now sits and waits for attention which I have finally decided to start doing.

This 1971 has a casting desk and a center console (will post photos). There are stress fractures in the deck and the floor, while seemingly solid, does have a few questionable spots. I did see, through one of the access ports, that the stringers are peeling and are going to need attention. The transom has cracks and some questionable spots as well.
The electrical also needs attention. I will also be re-wiring the whole boat once the floor and transom are complete. The center console will also need refinishing.
It has a 1993 V4-140 Looper that also runs. I have a newer (1996) midsection (with tilt and trim) that I will be updating this with.

I have seen and read quite a bit on glassing, epoxy and deck work to take on this project. It's going to be slow and steady because while I have the ability and mechanical inclination, I just don't have the funds to do it all at once.
I have some initial questions that I could use some advice on:
1. I'm going to start by cutting the casting deck. I know for sure the floor underneath the casting deck is rotted. As I'm cutting should I cut flush with the side of the boat or should I leave a lip so when the new deck goes on I have a guide?