Attention: Have 2 pages to see today

Author Topic: Hello  (Read 357 times)

May 02, 2018, 09:01:19 PM
Read 357 times

radioFlyer55

• Information Offline
Hello
« on: May 02, 2018, 09:01:19 PM »
Hello, my name is Peter, I am new here, and pretty new to boating (very new, actually). Some years ago I made a strip-built kayak, so I have some experience with working with fiberglass and epoxy, and I am a pretty decent carpenter. Last fall I bought a 1975 Aquasport, not sure off the top of my head whether its a 170 or a 175, but no matter. I am sure no one will be surprised to hear it has a spongy deck and (probably) a compromised transom. I have cut out the deck behind the coffin, which is the worst area. There is some additional sponginess on the port side as well. So my thoughts and questions right now are:

1) I plan to replace the rear deck with 15/32" Home Depot BCX plywood. I have some questions about how to actually attach this to the edges of the deck (sole?).
2) I also need to better understand the various different types of fiberglass out there. I used (I think) 6 ox. cloth on the kayak, that's probably a bit light for this job? What would make sense as a layup for this project?
3) I am kind of just assuming epoxy is the way to go, I have about a gallon on hand anyway, but is there an advantage to polyester in this case?
4) I would like to install a bilge pump and am looking into that; the most un-obvious issue is how/where to route the wast hose.
5) I am hoping to not do the transom this year- I would actually like to get out into the Chesapeake Bay this summer. Since I have the rear deck opened up, is there anything I should check or plan for now?
6) I have seen some videos about pumping an epoxy mixture into soft decks, I am thinking that may be the way to deal with the remaining spongy spots.